Shopping Cart
Onry Ozzborn - Hold On For Dear Life CD

Onry Ozzborn - Hold On For Dear Life CD

Regular price $9.99

Onry Ozzborn has been one of the key voices of Seattle Hip Hop over the last decade. Perhaps best known as one half of Rhymesayers Entertainment duo Grayskul and more recently for being the vocalist of Fake Four psych-pop-hoppers Dark Time Sunshine. Over the years Onry has collaborated and toured with everyone from Atmosphere and Eyedea to Aesop Rock and Cage.

With his latest (and supposedly final) solo release "Hold On For Dear Life" Fake Four presents a hard hitting yet curiously poppy album of diverse beats and unique thoughts from a truly original voice in hip hop. Although his children Violet and Nicholas Sire (whose photos grace the album artwork) seem to be the guiding light of inspiration on this album, Ozzborn's particular brand of surrealism and twists on boom bap standards shine through on these 16 tracks. With guests vocalists such as Sapient, Xperience and Reva DeVito providing singing counterpoints to Ozzborn's harder sounding raps the album takes on a more melodic sound than most straight ahead hip hop records.

The beats on 'Hold On For Dear Life' are also a diverse bag of sounds contributed largely by Oldominion crew mainstays such as Smoke and Taco Neck along with a gorgeous finale by Dark Time Sunshine producer Zavala. Some of the stylistic differences of these songs are going to take listeners by surprise but for the most part this is just classic Onry Ozzborn material - real, raw, a bit strange but all honest.

1. Michael Admires You (f. Sapient)
2. The O.O.
3. All To Herself (f. Reva DeVito)
4. The Get Away Car
5. That Good (f. Sapient)
6. Way Out (f. Maggie Morrison)
7. Best Of All Time
8. Electric Dreams
(f. Thaddeus of SOTA & Tilson)
9. Limbo Thus Purgatory
(f. Xperience)
10. Daughters
11. Hold Up
12. Nightlife (f. Candidt)
13. N.W. A List
(f. PeeGee 13, Candidt & IAME)
14. Hold On For Dear Life
15. Blend In
16. I Give Up
17. Fake Four