Shopping Cart
Mopes EP 7-Inch Record + MP3 PRE-ORDER

Mopes EP 7-Inch Record + MP3 PRE-ORDER

Regular price $19.99

Please read carefully! ALL pre orders will be held until the ship date. ALL other items in your shopping cart will also be held until the ship date. If you have items that you may want to receive sooner we suggest placing a separate order for those items.

Orders will ship on or before Friday, November 12, 2021.*
*shipping date is subject to change in the event of manufacturing delays


Introducing… MOPES

Back again for the first time, the artist formerly known as PROLYPHIC is marching forward with a new name, a new perspective, and a new EP that formally announces his presence with authority. It’s not just a name change - it’s a game change. 


Orders for this product page will receive:

1x "Facts Machine" b/w "Party McFly" 7-Inch Lathe Cut Record
***Limited Edition hand-numbered 1st pressing - only 30 copies available!
1x Mopes EP 320kbps MP3 Download
includes the full 4-song EP + 4 bonus instrumentals, only available at SFRstore! 
- link to download a .zip file of the mp3s will be delivered to your inbox after completion of checkout
- MP3s must be downloaded on a computer, not a mobile device
1x Bonus Vinyl record from The Great Sage Francis Record Collection Purge of 2021


01 Facts Machine
02 Party McFly (feat. Sage Francis, Jesse The Tree, BlackLiq)
03 Point A to Point B (feat. Jesse The Tree)
04 You Ging Rich (cuts by Buddy Peace) 
05 Facts Machine (Instrumental)
06 Party McFly (Instrumental)
07 Point A to Point B (Instrumental)
08 You Ging Rich (Instrumental)

Mixed & mastered by ALXNDRBRWN 
Cover art by Lamadomus 

The producer/emcee (and the first signee to Strange Famous Records) has spent his past 20 years as Prolyphic crafting a collection of classic indie material under a name chosen with all the enthusiasm and hubris of an aspiring teenage rap addict. While his work ethic never wavered, the finished product trickled out at a pace that mocked his moniker - it was the polar opposite of prolific, with new sounds escaping the lab every half a decade or so. He dropped formidable platters with underground hip hop production legends Reanimator (The Ugly Truth) and Buddy Peace (Working Man) before spearheading SFR’s digital imprint SFdigi with his self-produced LP DNGRFLD in 2016.

I was 17 when I first started to get recognition under the name Prolyphic,” the freshly-minted Mopes explains. “I was a kid. I was making music to find out who I was. I'm now 40, an adult man, a father who has a career, knows who he is and is now comfortable in his own skin. I went through so much shit between the ages of 17 and 40 that I couldn't make music under the same pseudonym again. I'm just not that same person anymore. Prolyphic is out, Mopes is in.”

The self-titled debut EP from MOPES contains four slabs of granulated granite, rhythms and rhymes broken down and built back up again, resulting in formations carved by the hands of a master craftsman. Every line, note, and drum beat screams no-fucking-around.

The first single and video, “Facts Machine,” manifests a new-era version of the classic Prolyphic style: masterfully manipulated soul samples and neck-knocking drums drizzled with dense and thoughtful lyrics, delivered with an unflappable flow in the cadence of a vested veteran. 

The posse cut “Party McFly” features SFR label overlord Sage Francis leading the charge, with a fresh crop of StrangeFam in tow: emcees BlackLiq (Virginia) and Jesse The Tree (Rhode Island) make their splashdown in Strange Famous waters with an impact that creates a wave sure to be felt for years to come. 

“I’m excited, I'm having fun and there's a lot to look forward to,” says Mopes. “Ya boy is putting that work in and being very prolific.” 

The eponymous debut EP is available now to stream or purchase on all digital platforms, including Spotify, Apple Music, Tidal, and Amazon.

Limited edition package deals including T-Shirts and 7-Inch Lathe Cut Records are exclusive to, and include the full digital EP + Instrumentals (only available at SFRstore)! 

← Previous Product Next Product →